Brief History

Originally comprised of Occidental Mindoro, Oriental Mindoro, Marinduque and parts of Laguna and Ambos-Camarines and also known as COUMINTAN or KUMINTANG.

In 1534, Batangas became the first practically organized province in Luzon and was officially founded in the year 1581. Balayan was the capital of the province for 135 years from 1597- 1732. In 1732 it was moved to Taal then the most progressive and flourishing town of the province. After several calamitous eruptions of Taal Volcano that buried then old Taal town site, the capital was transferred to Batangas (now a city) in 1754 where it has remained to the present.

Location :

Bounded on the north by the province of Cavite, on the northeast and east by the province of Laguna and Quezon respectively, on the south by Verde Island passages and on the west by the China Sea.

Land Area :  316,581  has. or 3,165.81 sq. kms. Percentage %  to CALABARZON’S  Land Area :  18.8% Municipalities :  31   Number of Barangays :   1,078 Number of  Congressional Districts:  6    First District: 8 Municipalities    
  1. Balayan
  2. Calaca
  3. Calatagan
  4. Lemery
  5. Lian
  6. Nasugbu
  7. Taal
  8. Tuy
  Second District: 6 Municipalities
  1. Bauan
  2. Lobo
  3. Mabini
  4. San Luis
  5. San Pascual
  6. Tingloy
   Third District: 11 Municipalities and 1 City
  1. Agoncillo
  2. Alitagtag
  3. Balete
  4. Cuenca
  5. Laurel
  6. Malvar
  7. Mataas na Kahoy
  8. San Nicolas
  9. Teresita
  10. Tomas
  11. Talisay
  12. Tanauan City
  Fourth District: 6 Municipalities
  1. Ibaan
  2. Padre Garcia
  3. Rosario
  4. San Jose
  5. San Juan
  6. Taysan
Fifth District: 1 City
  1. Sixth District: 1 CityBatangas City
  1. Lipa City
  Provincial Capital :          Balayan -   1597 to 1732 Taal – 1732 to 1754 Batangas City - 1754 to date
The Capitol Building : Located in Batangas City, construction began in 1926 and completed in 1928 under the late Governor Modesto Castillo during World War II. It was reconstructed in 1946, yet was destroyed by a bomb explosion in 1950, so it was again reconstructed in the same year by Governor Feliciano P. Leviste. Slope and Topography: The terrain of Batangas Province is mostly elevated lands, rolling hills, small low flat lands and numerous mountains. Some of the prominent mountains in the province are Lobo Mountains in Lobo, Batulao in Tuy, Panay in Mabini, Makulot in Cuenca, Banoy and Pinamucan in Batangas City, Susong Dalaga in Lipa City, San Pedrino in Southwestern Balayan, Los PIcos and Pico de Loro in Nasugbu and Compradia in between San Juan and Rosario. Generally, Batangas has rolling terrain with some 50% of its land area having a grade of less than 15º. Slopes are found along the shores of Verde Island Passage and Taal Lake. Mt. Makulot has an average of 957 meters above sea level. Climate and Rainfall: Batangas has two typs of climate: Type I and Type II. Type I has two pronounced seasons; dry from November to April and wet during the rest of the year. Type II has distinct seasons; however , it is relatively dry from November to April and wet during the remaining months. The climate of Batangas is generally cool and the air is humid. This varies, however, according to topography of the locality. May is the hottest month and the coldest is February.